Brian Spears

Poet, Editor, Teacher, Blogger.

Just waiting for my copy to get here

My much anticipated copy of Relief should be on the way sometime soon. As I’ve mentioned before, this publication means a lot to me in large part because it’s the first time Amy and I will be published in the same journal at the same time. But it’s also a pretty big deal to me because of the size of the poem they took. It was ten sections long, which translated into 7 pages in the galleys they sent me. (Beautiful, by the way. Molto bene!)

That’s a lot of space for any journal to give to one poet, unless you’re the Missouri Review, and that’s just what you do. As I understand it, this is not standard procedure for Relief, and it means a lot to me that they were willing to accept the poem without asking me to cut any of the sections. That they made it the Editor’s Choice for poetry was just icing on the cake.

I’ll have some bigger publication news in the near future.

August 22, 2008 - Posted by | Relief

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

