Brian Spears

Poet, Editor, Teacher, Blogger.

Shameless Self Promotion

I have two poems in the latest issue of storySouth, both from my upcoming book, A Witness in Exile, which is in the design stages right now. I’m very excited about that as well, and as soon as I have a photo of the cover, I’ll post it. I might even use the photo to make a cover for my phone. Would that be over the top? I can never tell.

Anyway, two poems from the book. The first is “Mesa” and the second is “Arch.” Both come from a trip Amy and I took some years ago when we did some hiking in the 4 Corners area–“Mesa” comes from our time at Mesa Verde and “Arch” from Arches National Park. Incredibly beautiful places, both of them. I’d love to go back some day. Yeah, I know. Titles aren’t my strong point. What can I say?

September 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. like ‘mesa’ and ‘arch’ – they resurrect something worthwhile from a trip i took there a few years ago – nice job!

    Comment by pat o'hayer | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Loved “Arch”.

    Comment by Sharanya Manivannan | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. I loved the welcoming of nostalgia’s corruption. Congrats, Brian.

    Comment by sunnysideupqueens | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oops. Signed into the wrong account, but the sentiment remains.

    Comment by Hannah Miet | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. Love love love “Arch”!!

    Comment by Heather | September 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

