Brian Spears

Poet, Editor, Teacher, Blogger.

And now for something completely different

Or at least, for me, the next thing. Or the intermediate thing. It’s a little confusing.

Since my book came out, people who are reading it will have a particular idea of what my poems are like. But some of those poems are six or seven years old. They’re still representative of me as a poet, and I’m not ashamed of any of them–indeed, the final cut of the manuscript only happened last October–but in the meantime I’ve done some other types of writing and experimenting, including a significant conceptual project last year.

And now some of that conceptual project is getting a little play, thanks to No Tell Motel. This is my week there, and the poems they chose are from The Cubs Project, a season-long collection of poems loosely structured around a half-inning of each 2010 Chicago Cubs baseball game. They combine found text from news items, tweets, Facebook status updates, snippets of noise around me and occasionally my own brain intrusions on the absurdity of all this information hitting us at the same time.

In connection with these poems, my partner Amy and I are working on a sound component to accompany them. Unfortunately, while recording was completed on one of them a while ago, other projects have kept us from finishing the editing on them, but we hope to be able to return to them in a couple of weeks, once the AWP convention is over and we’ve caught up with the paying jobs.

But in the meantime, if you’d like to see a completely different side of my work, check out No Tell Motel this week for my information overload poems.

January 24, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

