Brian Spears

Poet, Editor, Teacher, Blogger.

So…Big Day Today

Obviously I’m not great at keeping this blog updated, but if you’ve been following my work over at The Rumpus, you’ll know that a piece that ran on Monday titled “A Note To My Fellow White Males” has gotten a little attention. It was picked up by Jezebel and mentioned on Slate.

But the big hit came yesterday when I got a phone call (ten minutes before I had to teach a class) from Talk of the Nation asking me if I’d like to be on today’s show. So here I am, stressing hard, trying to prepare myself to talk to Neal Conan and whoever calls in about white male privilege and writing and whatever else comes up.

I’ll link to it once it’s available online (assuming I don’t make too large an ass of myself).

Update: Here’s the link to the audio. Hope you like it.

June 15, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Congratulations! I’m sure you’ll be wonderful! 🙂

    Comment by amy | June 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. That is a great piece. I’ve been sharing it on my networks since I first saw it on the 13th on Jezebel. Wish more white dudes (and all dudes, and chicks, especially those privileged by class, race, nationality, gender-normativity, sexuality etc) were as contemplative. Will follow your blog from now on. Cheers 🙂

    Comment by Kiran | June 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

